If you have ever been plagued with embarrassment after sending an email, Google might now have come to your rescue.
Google’s Gmail, one of the most popular email services, with close to one billion users worldwide, has now helped its users avoid sending incorrect emails that could have inappropriate or misguided content via its new “undo” send function. This ability to recall emails after the send button is a welcome feature for almost every email user.
NEW UPDATE ALLOWS YOU TO CANCEL DELIVERY WITHIN 30 SECOND OF HITTING SEND BUTTON
According to a blog post made by the technology giant, “‘Undo Send’ allows people using Gmail to cancel a sent mail if they have second thoughts immediately after sending.” This includes messages that are between you and another recipient as well as mass emails between you and more than one recipient.
NEW FEATURE WAS PREVIOUSLY IN GOOGLE LABS
This was previously a popular feature in the Gmail Labs for several years and was very recently added to the inbox by Google, making “undo send” a formal function on the internet.
HOW CAN WE ALL GET IT?
Now, I bet you are wondering how you can get this wonderful new feature yourself. It is turned off by default for most users. It can be enabled from the general tab in the Gmail settings. In the setting you can decide for yourself how long your personal “undo send” option should apply for. The options are 5, 10, 20 and 30 seconds. When the feature is activated a pop-up message will show up, allowing the user to stop the message. It will then reopen in another window so the user can delete it, change the recipient or allow it to send in its original state.
The best way to use this feature is to read all of your emails before you send them to avoid any issues. If you do hit send and see a mistake that you made, you have between five and thirty seconds to recall the email, depending on your settings. This function is best used for forgetting to attach something, correcting misspelt names and things of that sort.