Google is now coming out with a new “timeline” for Google Maps and will be expected within the next couple of weeks. This feature will allow you to view your entire location history from Google Maps. This will be based on data that is pulled from all of your devices when you are signed into your Google account. Google calls this new Your Timeline a useful way to remember and look at the places that you were at on a given day, month or year.
YOU CAN CURRENTLY SEE YOUR HISTORY ON GOOGLE MAPS, BUT NOT YOUR TIMELINE
You are already able to look at your location history by looking into your My Account dashboard that is associated with your Google account. The difference between the current viewings and the Your Timeline is that it will be available in a more user-friendly manner and visible from the Google Maps menu on the Android or desktop. Google Photos users will also see any pictures that they took on any day at a given location within the Your Timeline feature.
GOOGLE CLAIMS IT IS ONLY VISIBLE TO YOU
Google is saying that Your Timeline is private and visible only to you and only when you’re signed in to your Google account. You also will only be able to see Your Timeline if you have enabled location history storing with Google. Google Now users on mobile devices that have this featured enabled should see this timeline, unless they have manually disabled it.
YOU CAN DELETE YOUR HISTORY WHENEVER
Google also says that you can delete a specific day, location or even the full history whenever you want. Location settings. Locations that you frequently visit can also be named such as your home.